< back to overview

Judges Ready. Drivers Welcome.

Aug 9, 2013
Rick Bauer
Rick Bauer About the author

ONF reveals the seven judges of the open-source “OpenFlow® Driver” competition.

The Open Networking Foundation (ONF) launched our “OpenFlow® Driver” competition in April during the Open Networking Summit, aiming to create an interoperable, open-source implementation of the latest OpenFlow® standard for easy transitions between different implementations of the OpenFlow® protocol. Winning this competition will guarantee considerable bragging rights, and the $50,000 grand prize isn’t too shabby either.

Over the past few months, we’ve been hard at work, securing a renowned judging panel of seven individuals representing a wide range of prestigious backgrounds to evaluate the competition entries and select the best OpenFlow® driver. We are pleased to introduce the following judges of our “OpenFlow® Driver” competition:

  • Dr. Jun Bi, Professor and Director of Network Architecture & IPv6 Research Division at the Institute for Network Sciences and Cyberspace (former Network Research Center) at Tsinghua University, Beijing
  • Dr. David Erickson, Director of Course Content & Instruction at SDN Academy
  • Dr. Umesh Krishnaswamy, Engineering Lead at the Open Networking Laboratory leading the development of the Open Network Operating System (ONOS)
  • Dr. Yuji Sekiya, Professor in the Information Technology Center at the University of Tokyo
  • Dr. Ali Al-Shabibi, Lead Engineer, Open Networking Laboratory
  • Dr. Rob Sherwood, Chief Technology Officer of Controller Technologies at Big Switch Networks
  • Chris Small, SDN Architect for the University of Washington in Seattle

Since the launch of the competition, we’ve been thrilled with the interest we’ve received from developers worldwide. In fact, the interest has been so great that we’ve extended the competition deadline to September 15 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time. For more information about ONF’s open-source “OpenFlow® Driver” competition, including complete submission guidelines, please visit www.opennetworking.org/competition.

- Rick Bauer, Technical Program Manager

Share this post:
Rick Bauer